A Walk Around Surf Avenue (Updated 3/2/10)

February 21, 2009

Stillwell Avenue

Years ago, the subway station was vibrant with concession stands and a long ramp to the street.  It fell into disrepair.  It became dark, the concessions closed and was not a pleasant or safe place to use (Photo:  A. Sandy (c))

Approxmately 45 years ago, there was a souvenir shop on this street, owned by my friend’s father.  He owned it for over 20 years.  It later became a liquor shop.

Before the Newport sign was the Coppertone Baby, who welcomed visitors.  Times have changed and so eventually did the subway station.

New construction of the old station with a bit of Coney charm.

Surf Avenue (Photo:  Jimvid (c))

Coney Island Souvenir T-Shirt Shop.

Denny’s Ice Cream Shop.

Williams’ Candy Shop, the only remaining candy store in Coney.

The famous Eldorado “Bump Your Ass Off” the music never stops! (Photo:  A. Sandy (c))

The Shore Theater, home to vaudville shows and many other transformations over the years.  The theater has been closed for years..  Murry Zaret’s Animal Nursery was next door.  The nursery had exotic animals as well as house pets.  I adopted a Maine Coon Kitten there.  (Photo:  C. Denson, “Coney Island Lost and Found” (c))

Hone of the minor league Mets.

For those who are really hungry…

Nathan’s Famous

You haven’t eaten a hot dog until you’ve had one at Nathan’s Coney Island, the Original.

The snap of the frank, the toasted bun, mustard, kraut, onions, the long lines, and of course the embiance of eating the best frank and food.  As “they” say… it always tastes better at the beach!

Of course, Stillwell Avenue was home to Philip’s Candy Shop from the 1930’s until the train station closed for renovation.  The shop is currently located on Staten Island.

Another icon, B&B Carousell which closed in July 2001.

Mike operated the Carousell for many years.  He passed away on July 4, 2001.

Magic Bowling now replaces the Carousell (Photo: D. Matlack (c))

Stillwell Avenue & Henderson Walk.

The Coney Island Museum was once located on the Boardwalk and relocated to a store front on Mermaid Avenue.  Dick Zigun and colleagues gave worked hard to turn Sideshows by the Seashore into a beautiful store front on the corner.

The new location of the Coney Island Museum and Freak Bar.

Stillwell Avenue view (Photo:  Jimvid (c))

Of course, there have been additional changes on Stillwell Avenue, be sure to come back for more photos.

 

24 Responses to “A Walk Around Surf Avenue (Updated 3/2/10)”

  1. Paul Murray said

    This brought back fond memories. My Grand Mother and Aunts resided at 2933 W 16TH ST, Coney Island,NY–across surf from Steeple Chase. I spent my summers ther until High School, then would spend weekends with my Aunts while on Reserve Duty at Ft. Hamilton. My Maternal family were the Halls–I am Dr. Hall’s grandson. We were acress the street drom Frank The Barbers and The Seven Seas.

  2. Paul Murray said

    Thanks for your Blog–Pardon My TYPOS

    • Jack Namer said

      I worked at the Magic Carpet ride with the laughing lady, those were the days, fire works every Tuesday night at 9pm. Wow so many memories

      • Sal said

        Can you please give me some information on the fat laughing lady. Where she was purchased,who dressed her up with different costumes, the laugh. Also there wer two young fellows that worked there? Who were they? Do you have any pictures of the laughing lady tha I can purchase?

        Thank you,
        Sal

      • egulvision said

        Unfortunately, I don’t remember the guys who worked there. Here’s a link on Laughing Sal which gives a lot of information and hopefully helpful. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laffing_Sal

        I’ll see what size my image is and get back to you.

        Thanks for writing!
        Diane

      • Sal said

        I am in need of pictures of Minnie Ha Ha from the Magic Carpet ride in Coney Island. Do you know where she was made? I remember the lady who owned the ride but I never asked her. It seemed as if Minnie had a different face and was dressed differently at times. What can you tell me about her? I will pay for the pictures. Please let me know. do you also have pictures of the donkey game right next to the carpet ride also?

        Thanks

        Sal
        Please email me

  3. Stu Schuster said

    THANKS FOR THE MEMORIES…WHEN I STARTED TO LOOK AT THE SITE I WAS 69 YEARS OLD…AT THE END I FELT LIKE I WAS 15 ALL OVER AGAIN…BRING BACK THE DODGERS AND MY LIFE WILL BE COMPLETE…
    BTW… SHATSKIN’S KNISHES WAS A CROSS THE ALLEY FROM NATHANS AFTER YOU PASS THE CUSTARD PLACE OR WAS THERE ANOTHER STORE BETWEEN SHATSKINS AND THE CUSTARD STORE

  4. Sean K. Stallings said

    Wow, its been a few years since i been out to CI, so much has changed, but i sitll see much of what I know as Coney Island.

  5. Lou Cicardo said

    Wow, that was really wonderful. My mother owned a restaurant in the early 1950’s on Stillwell Avenue. I went to Mark Twain JHS. (Then on to the High School of Music and Art).
    One of my good friends, way back then, was Morty Shatkins, the son of Shatkin’s Knishes fame.
    I remember as a small child, Luna Park burning. My father hosed the house down as he was afraid that the embers might ignite our home.
    What great memories of a by-gone era.
    Now living in Paradise, in North Carolina.

  6. coney island looks so different ive been out of new york fior almost 20 years i probably wont reconize it ill feel like a stranger back in new york brooklyn take care

  7. Jessica Berman said

    I grew up in Coney Island in the late 60’s living in the Sam Burt Houses on West 36th Street and then moving to Luna Park in the early 70’s, living there until the mid 90’s. Boy, those pictures brought back such memories. My mom used to take me to the Animal Nursery and I rode the B & B Carousel so many times, getting the Golden Ring to get a free ride. Shatkins was the most delicious knish–my mom used to by a dozen at a time and freeze them–blueberry cheese, cherry cheese, pineapple cheese. Then about 15 years ago there was a kosher sit down restaurant near all the car dealerships off of Nostrand Avenue and someone there use to work for Shatkins and duplicated the knishes. That restaurant has sinced closed, but I can still taste the knishes in my mind. What great memories.

  8. Mike said

    Jack, I used to also live at 2877 W. 16th street as a kid in the 70’s. This is so funny. However, I don’t remember you or your last name?

  9. steve thomas, scott phillips said

    my friend i have an original loop tape for the laughing fat lady from the magic carpet ride does anyone have info or interest in this

  10. Sal Vollaro said

    Please let me now if you found the picture of Minnie Ha Ha tat you said yu would check out for me. do ou know where tha figure was made and the face that was put on her? Thanks

    egulvision

  11. egulvision said

    Hi Sal, I don’t have a copy of the “loop tape” of Sal laughing, I think that post was from Steve Thomas (see above comments). He has not posted and I do not have an email address for him.

    I did send you a picture of Sal a while back via email. Hope you received it.

    Diane

  12. Sal said

    Diane,,
    Thanks so much. Yes, I received the picture. This loop tape was mentioned and I sent a message that I was interested but I hve no heard a response from him.

  13. Tony niola said

    2858 west 16 th street Niola family… great place to grow up with Rosas bakery on mermaid ave , armotos and Jo- dans on the corner sevens seas was still a good place as well as the borden ice cream stand I can go on for ever

Leave a Reply

